THE PATH LESS TRAVELLED

It’s a common misconception amongst potential travellers, that to find enlightenment or fulfilment of your inner-self, you have to avoid the so called ‘trodden path’.

Firstly, The path is there for many reasons. Regardless of its route, you will find it generally safe, and with like minded people along the same trail, you will have fun. So you can say to those who scorn you for doing the ever so popular routes, that if there was something else worth seeing, the money generated from tourism would create a brand new path of which to traverse down.

If it isn’t trodden before you, stop, there’s probably a very good reason..

More and more I read about people exploring far off parts of the Arctic, or flying over the central Australian outback and naming un-named things as they stop for lunch. But all of these stories carry the same trend, you have to be extremely wealthy to be able to afford to undertake this kind of travel.

With a guide book and no set itinerary it’s a wonderful feeling waking up in the morning not knowing what awaits you. The situations that you come across and the lessons you take from it are all individual. I have many tales about places I’ve been and people I’ve met. And I’ve met people who have been to the same places as me and taken all kinds of different memories  from looking at the very same thing.

For those who walk the route of several million backpackers around Asia and Australia every year, like I did many moons ago, take heart in being one of those several million. But for me the path doesn’t end when you board the plane home.

You take with it your very own experiences and stories, knowledge and understanding of the world. That knowledge you put into practice and the path you proceed along, is truly yours and yours alone. Your’ll be making the first tracks in the dust, and be aware, it will never be trodden again.

2 comments on “THE PATH LESS TRAVELLED

  1. Pavel says:

    For me, I semm to be able to find my inner self only with considerable help of strangers I meet on the way, some of them turning to friends in the process. Every time I’d taken the untrodden path, I only met weird people.

    • 3arrington says:

      Pavel, I’ll be sure to give your advice to my cousin who is about to embark on her first adventure to New Zealand. I hope she too makes many friends.

Leave a comment