SONGS TO SING AT PRESCHOOL

In September 2013 I began a new career of teaching pre-school children in Prague. Although this new path has limited my time for focusing on my next book, it has given me the chance to write songs and poems for the children that I teach.

I have already mentioned the hardship of leaving children when you become attached, and this will be hard at the end of the school year in June, when most of my class will leave for primary school.

Leave as they must, I’ll be happy that with them they take a song or two that I wrote with them in mind. Here are my favorite songs  for these young boys and girls.

THE OCEAN SONG

You can sail upon the Ocean,

You can sail upon the Sea,

A song to remember all the names of these,

Atlantic, Pacific, Indian and Southern,

The cold of the Arctic too,

All of the oceans and all of the seas,

Shimmer a shiney blue.

WHAT WE HAVE

We have the Planets and the Stars, Jupiter and Mars,

We have the rivers and the seas, the plants and the trees,

We have the animals and birds, butterflies and bees,

We have our toys to lend, and best of all we have our friends.

LITTLE FISHIE

I had a little fishie,

She climbed into a tree,

She ate all the bananas

So she could look like me.

A million years went by,

A million starry skies,

Now she’s counting fingers

And she can count to five.

 

With our Christmas concert just around the corner, we’ll be writing together again for this special time of year.

One comment on “SONGS TO SING AT PRESCHOOL

  1. […] blogging about the songs I wrote for a class of preschool children in the latter part of last year, I have now found the time to […]

Leave a comment