THE MILLENNIUM BUG

I know I am very late getting round to read these books, partly because I find it hard to read and write my own stories without getting confused, and partly because I was afraid of the commitment to three volumes of such great number of pages.

But I have recently finished reading the millennium trilogy written by Stieg Larsson. It is by far the biggest attention draining story to adorn adult fiction in a long while. The story line and free flowing style of the author make it impossible to put down.

I rushed to the second hand book shop as soon as I had finished ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ which I had had on my shelf to read for over a year but hadn’t found the time to commit.

I packed the second volume as my book to read as I drove back to the south of France. The return journey took a lot longer than the outward one as I was armed with ‘The Girl who Played with Fire’ and stopped to read every two hours. With a bed in the back of my van I even spent a whole day reading alongside the A20 auto route that runs north to south in France.

When I eventually returned to my rented yurt, I borrowed a copy of the third book and delayed work just to read. Whilst I was reading I wondered how many people have lost their job over these books. Not for the fact that the story is at all true but for the simple point that the books are addictive, a bug, making me for one late to work on several occasions.

The characters are so interesting and the plot so entwined that you feel disappointed when the books finish. You feel a connection that just isn’t able to be cut. Closing ‘The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest’ for the last time felt emotional and left a hole which Blomkvist and others had so joyously filled.

I intend to wait some time before seeing the films as I wish to preserve my own image of the characters.

Have you seen the films? What do you think and do they relate to the books?

Leave a Reply

